Team History

The Oklahoma Warriors are a Tier II junior ice hockey team in the North American Hockey League’s South Division. The Warriors played their first two years in Wichita Falls, Texas, at Kay Yeager Coliseum. The team joined the NAHL in 2020, with the 2020-21 season serving as their first year.

On April 14, 2020, the Warriors announced their inaugural head coach, Garrett Roth. Roth was a former assistant coach with the Bismarck Bobcats and Aberdeen Wings and serves as the Warriors’ head coach and general manager.

Roth worked as the associate head coach and director of player personnel in Bismarck before arriving in Wichita Falls. He played Division I college hockey at Bemidji State after setting numerous team records as a forward with the Bismarck Bobcats.

On October 24, 2019, the NAHL announced that they had approved the membership application submitted by Robbie Hockey LLC, an entity owned and operated by Mary Anne Choi, for a team in Wichita Falls, Texas. On November 26, 2019, the Warriors name was selected out of Warriors, Flames, Reign, and Falcons via a name-the-team contest.

The Warriors played their first game on October 18, 2020, at Kay Yeager Coliseum in front of over 1,000 fans. Kay Yeager Coliseum was formerly the home of the Wichita Falls Rustlers (2002-04) and Wichita Falls Wildcats (2004-17) hockey teams, who both previously played in the NAHL.

Wichita Falls picked up the first win in franchise history on November 7, 2020, with a 6-4 home win over the Shreveport Mudbugs. The Warriors would rally forward to have a dominant first season in Wichita Falls that included an 11-game win streak, an NAHL record for a first-year team.

On May 21, 2021, the Warriors defeated the Lone Star Brahmas 5-3 on the road for their first postseason win. The team would sweep Lone Star 3 games to 0 with their first home postseason win, a 4-2 win over the Brahmas on May 29, 2021. In the South Division Finals, they would lose to the eventual league champions, Shreveport Mudbugs.

The Warriors would qualify for the Robertson Cup for the second time in their two-year franchise history, collecting 78 points and the third seed.

After the 2022 Robertson Cup, the Warriors were rebranded as the Oklahoma Warriors and will play the 2022-2023 season in the Blazers Ice Centre in Oklahoma City.


First Season: 30-19-1-6 (67 pts)

Second Season: 35-17-5-3 (78 pts)